Know a Distinguished Paralegal? Tell LSUC


Yes, another deadline approaches.

Paralegals are asked to provide nominations for the 2014 Law Society Awards, including the Distinguished Paralegal Award.

Nomination information is available from the Law Society. It is best to file the nomination and letters of support as one package.


Submit nominations to:, or by regular mail to:

    The Law Society Awards Committee
    The Law Society of Upper Canada
    130 Queen Street West
    Toronto, M5H 2N6

Indicate the award and the name of the candidate being nominated, as the subject line. For example:

    Re: Distinguished Paralegal Nomination, Jane Nancy Smith

Nominations sent by email should be in PDF format.

The Distinguished Paralegal Award was created in 2011 to recognize paralegals who demonstrate one or more of:

  • Outstanding professional achievement
  • Contribution to the development of the profession
  • Devotion to professional duties
  • Adherence to best practices and mentoring of others in best practices
  • A history of community service
  • Personal character that brings credit to the paralegal profession

The current recipient is Elaine Page, a Thornhill paralegal. During her 20-year career, Page worked on the Superior Court of Justice Rules Sub-Committee, helping to redraft the Rules for Small Claims Court. An instructor and mentor, she is co-owner of PREP Network (Paralegal Resource Education Program), helping students to prepare for the licensing exam.

Brian Lawrie received the first Distinguished Paralegal Award, in 2012.

Nominations for the paralegal award are reviewed by a selection committee that includes the five paralegal members of the Paralegal Standing Committee, the Vice-Chair of the Paralegal Standing Committee, a lay bencher member of the Paralegal Standing Committee and the Treasurer of the Law Society, or his designate. The selection committee reports to Convocation in-camera with its recommendation, which must be approved by Convocation.

Award recipients’ names will be published on the Law Society’s website and released to media.

Questions regarding the Law Society Awards can be directed to 416-947-3946 or 1800-668-7380 ext. 3946.





One comment

  1. I want to nominate Elizabeth Lereverend! The starting of paralegal scope was the achievement of the year and she should be recognized for it.

%d bloggers like this: